Wind Engineering Society Website

Site Menu

Members Login


Click To Register


Organization of the Society


The Society is managed by an Executive Committee consisting of a Chairman, Vice Chairman, Honorary Secretary/Treasurer and 5 other elected members. The committee may also co-opt members from time to time and have representatives from other Engineering Institutions.

The WES and the ICE

The Wind Engineering Society is an Specialist Knowledge Society of the Institution of Civil Engineers. While the Society is effectively self-governing, this relationship allows WES to make use of the ICE's administrative support for the collection of membership subscriptions, newsletter circulations etc. Members of the Society do not have to be members of the ICE. Liaison with the ICE is maintained by mutual representation between the Structure and Building Board of the Institution and the Executive Committee of the Society.

The current Committee is:

Elected Members
Mr David MacKenzieFlint & Neill Limited2009-2017
Dr Gordon BreezeBRE2009-2017
Dr Bernardo VazquezBuro Happold2011-2017
Dr Zheng-Tong XieUniversity of Southampton2013-2017
Dr John MacDonaldUniversity of Bristol2007-2015
Dr Ender OzkanRWDI2011-2015
Mr John ReesFlint & Neill Limited2011-2016
Dr Mark SterlingBirmingham University2011-2016
Co-Opted Members
Professor Janet BrownUniversity of Reading2013-2017
Mr Francesco DorrigattiRWDI2015-2019
Young Members' Group Representative
Special Advisors

© 2009 Wind Engineering Society.  All Rights Reserved.  Web design by Blue Fish Web Design.
Institution of Civil Engineers, One Great George St, Westminster, London, SW1P 3AA.  Contact Us